How appropriate is Thimbleweed Park for an 8 year old?

I wanted to introduce my 8 year old daughter to adventure games and was wondering, how appropriate would “Thimbleweed Park” be?

Any other similar games that are more age appropriate?

You could start with Humongous Entertainment games first before introducing her to Lucas Film Games / Lucasarts titles. The funny ones (not Indy and not The Dig) should be fine for 8 year olds.

1 Like

In my opinion, there are many better adventure games suited for a 8 year old kid.

The tone of Thimbleweed Park can be perceived as a quite dark one and there are not many positive messages in the game. Small parts of the game might be enjoyable for a 8 year old, though.

Personally, I would suggest Freddi Fish:

1 Like

I just started playing Freddi Fish recently to test it for my granddaughter, and it is very good for children. On the iPad version, the controls are a bit clunky, but the game is very good.

What the… how old are you? I don’t know why, but I thought you were at most 40.

BTW, my daughter is 4 (actually, 3y364d today) and she LOVED Freddi Fish. Unfortunately, since we’re Italian, she could only play the 4th game (the only one with Italian voices), but it was so great to see her play and solve the game all by herself.

So, I’d go with Freddi Fish and other Humongous games. They’re perfect to start.

While I don’t think the murder is a problem in TWP, the puzzles need a bit of “adult” knowledge and the whole tone would be lost on an 8yo, so I’d keep it for later.

On the other end, I think that Monkey Island can be enjoyed without problems by an 8yo.

2 Likes

I think you got the point. The way you educate your children is very personal, and surely some people could find “inappropriate” something I found suitable or vice versa.
But that’s not the point. if you just want to know if your son will see explicit sex/nudity/profanity/violence/alcool/drugs, you can simply stick to the official rating. It says it all.