Open World Point and Click game?

I’ve seen some crazy PnC mechanic ideas here, including the multiplayer Maniac Mansion :smile:

So here’s one more idea:

A cross between Point and click and RPG:

• just like RPGs you have an open world with many different puzzles at different towns
  • there is no linear plot, so just like in RPGs you wander around and solve ‘quests’ for folks
  • BUT: quests are NOT boring like ‘kill 10 boars’ but actually interesting point and click stuff

The boring grinding and levelling is why I abandon most RPGs, if it were interesting puzzle solving, I’d be hooked… So what do you guys think, can it be done (as a dev I can already see a billion issues, but it doesn’t sound impossible)? I love it when RPGs make you think (like some item puzzles in Deathspank for example), but would it work as the only mechanic, I don’t know…

Yes:

1 Like

Dude, check out Death Spank, by none other than Mr. Ron Gilbert himself. An adventure game/RPG hybrid was its intended goal.

I think he succeeded. It’s got the best of both worlds: my wife, an RPG gamer loved it, and so did I.

dZ.

1 Like

yes man, yes. I dream of a game like this.

The problem of having an open world is that you can no longer have puzzles that consist in using objects in uncommon ways (mcGyver style). Because in an open world there would be more logical substitutes for those objects. An interesting question is how many puzzles in TWP you would lose. Another interesting question is what are the kinds of puzzles that would survive. (I remember Ultima 7 had subsections where you are locked up in dungeons, or in alternate dimensions, with few objects in the inventory, exactly because of this problem.)

Have you played “Else Heart.Break()” already?

You’re right. Since my time is limited, I need to choose: either play else heart.break, or keep tormenting readers of this forum with abstract posts that are of interest only to myself. I choose the latter.