The pronunciation thread

Stimulated by @tasse-tee, I studied some italian and english pronunciation rules, and I discovered some amazing things. I’d like to share, I hope it could be of some interest.

I’ll begin trying to explain the italian pronunciation of vowels.

Be patient, I’m writing…

3 Likes

As an aside, here’s a book on Italian orthography (among others) I enjoyed: http://www.oapen.org/search?identifier=626372;keyword=orthographies

1 Like

Letter A

It is very easy. the letter “A” in italian is ALWAYS:

a (IPA)

LISTEN

Here is the IPA chart for all the vowels:

Italians can’t pronunciate correctly the english A’s because in the IPA chart, the only italian A is this:

while the “standard english” A’s are all of these:

So, you can understand how it should be complicated to distinguish between 3 sounds when we recognize only one.

But things are actually much more complicated. Those 3 A’s are “standard english” A’s, and I mean the “received pronunciation”.

But, really, how many people talk like that? if you take all the different A’s in the various kinds of english spoken all over the world, thing get much more messy.

These are the english open-mid to open vowel sounds, according to Wikipedia, in the world:

And this is the italian corresponding:

Can you believe it? English is much more difficult than italian in pronunciation!

We started this discussion talking about the graphic symbol A and its corresponding sounds. Let’s do the other way round:

This, on the chart, is the range of vowels that are vaguely perceived as an A to an italian ear:

The funny fact is that they are written in english, sometimes with an A (“hat”, “bath”), sometimes wit a U (es. “stuck”), sometimes with an O (es. “lot”, “hot”), sometimes with an E (second in “letter”)…

WOW. That’s a mess.

Oh, I was going to forget… If italian pronunciation rules for A are sooooo simple, why english and american people simply can’t get right the italian A?