Physicists say that we actually live in Thimbleweed Park? (spoilers!)

Hi everyone, I wanted to tell you one interesting thing: physicists nowadays believe that the ending of Thimbleweed Park may not be so far from the truth, and that our own Universe can be inside some sort of computer, made from bits of information.

I’m a physicist myself, and I’m extremely curious about this topic. The idea comes from string theory (namely, the so-called AdS/CFT correspondence), as well as quantum information theory.

1 Like

But string theory is not proven… Right?

1 Like

Yes, this isn’t a new theory(*) - or theories to be precise. The idea is that we are living in a simulation. The problem is the proof. And if we would live in a simulation there have to be some sorts of interfaces to the surrounding world.

Another “problem” is the definition of what a “simulation” precisely is. For example a lot of cells are “simulating” together a human being.

(*) The idea of a universe with more than three or four dimensions is very similar.

AFAIK it is not proven - like the “big bang”. And there are several different string theories, if I remember correctly.

1 Like

I highly doubt that (but maybe that’s just my programming :grin:).

If it were the case, it would raise a lot of interesting philosophical questions, however.
Like:

• what’s the purpose of the simulation?
  • are our god(s) equivalent to the creator(s) of the simulation?
  • do we have a free will, if we’re products of an algorithm (or controlled by someone playing The Sims CMXIV)?
  • is everything we can observe truly simulated, or is it just a pretty texture that happens to look like millions of billions of galaxies? (might explain why aliens didn’t visit yet)
  • where’s the exit button?

The sceptic in me discards the whole idea as simply a new way of trying to explain the state of our existence with the means we currently have at our disposal. No more, no less. And far from the truth, which we might never know.