Wishes for a Thimbleweed Park successor

If there is a successor to Thimbleweed Park, I think it would be great if the Adventure would use some more modern technology. I still remember the time of Monkey Island 1+2 very well. Both games were technically a real progress at that time. They weren’t “retro”, they were groundbreaking. But I’m also aware that this has a lot to do with money and that progress doesn’t come from nothing.

I think the E3 2017 Trailer of “The Last Night” is very impressive. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pupdeq1MoVw Optically pixel art, but equipped with modern effects and very opulent. I’m not an expert, but I suspect that this is not really pixel art, but modern 3D graphics with pixel art as textures.

I don’t know if some effects can be integrated into a future Terrible Toybox Adventure, but I wish it could.

2 Likes

Yup.

The question is: Would that work with the TWP graphics. :slight_smile: “The Last Night” is a very dark themed adventure. In comparison the colours of TWP are more “brighter” and comic like. I’m a little bit skeptic that “better” graphics would keep the charm of TWP.

2 Likes

Could make the whole game in 3D using a shader to turn it into pixelart:

http://initialsgames.com/main/?p=1360

8 Likes

Hm… I don’t like to say it, but … the results are looking ugly. And they remind me of the first 3D games we had in the 90s …

Yeah, pixely 3D textures have a strong mid 90s feel to them(or longer as HD era didn´t begin before the mid 00nds).

For some reason it hasn´t aged as well as the classic 2D look. I didn´t even like it back then as it seemed very “not there yet”.

1 Like

Huh, I was more bothered by some of the weird 2D stuff in the old 3D games. It felt so out of place. I think Terminal Velocity looks and plays about as good as it ever did.

Tomb Raider by contrast plays terribly — it was never great but now it’s just plain awful — but it also looks just fine to me.