Great Milan and Lady Mondegreen

Continuing the discussion from FIFA World Cup Russia 2018:

Great Milan!!! You are right. Everything sounds as italian dirty words.
Even “great Milan”, now that I think of it, sounds a bit like “grattami l’ano”…

This isn’t the first time you roll your eyes noticing that WE have this particular tendency to hear italian dirty words in stranger sentences. What does this mean?

1. The excessive pasta consumption can cause thickening of the earwax, thus impairing hearing
  2. Italians are known for their dirty mind, so they’re prone to pareidolia.

I don’t know the reason, but this phenomenon is actually particularly frequent among italians.
Let me tell you something funny. My grandmother taught me, as a little child, some “latin” prayers.
When I started studying latin, when I was 11, I realized most of the words of the prayers I learned where twisted into inexistent words, many of them being similar to actual italian or milanese words.

I remember one evening years later, chatting with friends, we discussed about the different versions of the “Requiem” as reported by the different grandmothers, and the result was really hilarious.

Anyway, what’s the purpose of this topic?

I suggest that everybody tries to think about a word or a sentence which makes some sense in a language, but it has a whole different meaning in another. I will start with a famous french sentence (at least, it is famous in all northern Italy).

Ready?

“Les calculs de la grand-mère d’Ada” → English meaning: “The gallstones* of Ada’s grandmother”

Well, it happens that this innocent french sentence is a perfect homophony of another sentence in milanese dialect:

“Leca el cul de la gran merdada” → English meaning: “lick the big shit off the ass

Does anybody else has some example?

(*)

“calculs” also means “calculations”, but I have always thought, hearing this sentence, about gallstones.

Nice Zak-bonus: the Wikipedia article for that word features the face on Mars!