To those who have a peculiar/funny/cryptic nickname: what does it mean?

Some of us use in this forum a nickname that coincides just with the real name and/or surname, but others have nicknames strange or cryptic or references to games or other things.

So, I was curious: where does your nickname come from? Does it have a story?

For example:

• Is it a reference to a character/movie/song/ other stuff that you love?
  • Is it a long-time nickname or something that you made up just for this forum?
  • Does it have a curious story?
  • If it seems cryptic to others, can you share its meaning?

About mine: I have chosen my nickname since the Amiga days, when I was a Motorola 68000 assembly developer. It’s a reference to Low Level programming and I’m using it since then. In the years “low level” has become a bit of a philosophy for me: I like to study and evaluate things deeply and so, while I like abstraction too, I also love to analyze things at a “lower level”.

What about your nickname? :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Good morning! (You wake up early today! )

My nickname references to two of the most important videogames of my life.
“Important” because they were not only amusant, but they helped me in changing something important in my life.

The two games are:

• Zak McKracken (spelled correctly) And The Alien Mindbenders
  • Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney

The first one, it’s a well-known adventure game published by Lucasfilm, made by David Fox. It was the first adventure game that I finished by myself, without any help nor hints/walkthrough. It took me three months to complete, it taught me many English words and that was useful later, during high school period. I loved it because it was smart, ironic, and with real mysterious places, fascinating. Since then, I started to call myself “Zak McKracken”, and nowadays every person, even in the real life, knows me as Zak. Maybe only my parents still call me with the name they decided for me. :relieved: